The Outward Affect

 

This post is something that I have been trying to grasp. I love to write because of the ability to communicate something that is so precious in my heart and transform it into a piece that allows those feelings to be shared with others.  Then again, that poses a question, “What is one suppose to do when all words are all lost?”. What happens when words loose their hold and you are left speechless?

There has been an event in my life and it has left me utterly lost for words. Now, trying to deal with the fact that a close friend almost lost her life due to a freak accident leaves me wondering how life works. 

But how is it that when things like this happen, we only take it to reflect on our lives? It makes me feel as though I am being selfish, that I am no longer thinking about the person but simply about my own feelings. We see all these horrible things happen to others and we only take time to think about how lucky we are, how we must be grateful for what we have. Although I agree that one must do that, the true tragedy is when that’s as far as their sympathy and caring goes. During others tribulations the first thing we should do is offer as much support as personally possible. Now I am no stranger to doing this and also frequently guilty of thinking of myself first, we all are. 

But here is my challenge for you (that I am also taking on myself), look outward on situations instead of inward. Take your time to offer help for others before thinking about your own needs. Think of a world that everyone put other needs before their own. Now that’s something to imagine.

Until next time, 

Daphne. 

If you haven’t checked out my new Music page click here

2 comments

  1. […] Did you miss my last post? Click HERE! […]

  2. Life ebbs and flows. Great advice it is always helpful to look outward and gain new perspective

    http://erikconover.com

    Erik

Leave a comment